After being delayed for two years due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the honorees for the 2020 Songwriters Hall Of Fame are finally being recognized for their legendary contributions to the world of music—and the group includes some of our faves. Mariah Carey, The Neptunes and The Isley Brothers are among artists being honored for their well-respected pen game and officially inducted into the Songwriters Hall Of Fame.

If you’re a true music fan who still does the research to find out who is responsible for writing some of the music industry’s biggest hits, the latest artists to be inducted into the Songwriters Hall Of Fame should come as no surprise. @Billboard reports, Mariah Carey, The Neptunes and The Isley Brothers are now officially members of the exclusive class and recipients of one of the highest honors in music. Initially scheduled for June 2020, the formal gala for the induction ceremony is set to take place later today at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.

Other legendary honorees for this year’s Songwriters Hall Of Fame include, Annie Lennox & Dave Stewart of Eurythmics; Rick Nowels, who wrote songs for artists such as Lana Del Rey, Dua Lipa and John Legend and William “Mickey” Stevenson (who was the A&R chief executive for Berry Gordy’s iconic Motown label,) courtesy of writing credits that feature chart-topping hits for Marvin Gaye, The Four Tops and Martha & The Vandellas.

Speaking about the decision to wait for the induction ceremony to safely be in-person instead of virtually, Songwriters Hall Of Fame President and CEO Linda Moran stated:

“The gala’s finally happening after three years. It has had an intense and staggering effect on me and has left me feeling completely overwhelmed and amplified even more so, knowing that the gala is expected to be the catharsis for the songwriting and music publishing communities after life with COVID.”

In conjunction with the hall of fame class, the organization has also unveiled the Songwriters Experience, which is a traveling museum in partnership with the Grammy Museum, celebrating the legacy of songwriters that opened on June 14th at the City University of New York (CUNY.) Jimmy Jam, Toby Keith, Carole King, Smokey Robinson, Carole Bayer Sager and Diane Warren are among the featured songwriters at the event.


Want updates directly in your text inbox? Hit us up at 917-722-8057 or click here to join!

Source link